DREAM News: JZ Calvancante vs. Shinya Aoki To Rematch At DREAM 2


The Official DREAM website has released the lineup for the first round of the middleweight grade prix at DREAM 2. Among the middleweights announced, is the surprise rematch of lightweights Gesias “JZ” Calvancante and Shinya Aoki. JZ and Aoki fought at DREAM 1, which ended in a No Contest after JZ illegally elbowed Aoki on the upper back/sholder blade.

DREAM 2 takes place on April 29 just two weeks before the winner would have to fight Katsuhiko Nagata in the second round of the lightweight grand prix on May 11.

DREAM 2 – April 29

Kazushi Sakuraba vs. Andrews Nakahara
Kiyoshi Tamura vs. Masakatsu Funaki
Denis Kang vs. Gegard Mousasi
Gesias “JZ” Calvancante vs. Shinya Aoki

DREAM 3 – May 11

Tatsuya Kawajiri vs. Luis Buscape
Joachim Hansen vs. Eddie Alvarez
Mitsuhiro Ishida vs. Caol Uno
Katsuhiko Nagata vs. Winner of Aoki/Calvancante

DREAM 1 Videos

Andre Dida vs Eddie Alvarez

Mirko Cro cop vs Tatsuya Mizuno

Gesias Calvancante vs. Shinya Aoki

Hayato Sakurai vs Hidetaka Monma

Joachim Hansen vs Koutetsu Boku

DREAM 1 Results : Aoki vs. Calvancante

dream 1 results 2008

The Fights are to start March 15 around 4 am MST and will not be broadcast in the United States.

HDNet and K-1 DREAMS is currently in negotiations to broadcast future DREAMS events in the US.


  • Shinya Aoki vs. Gesias “J.Z.” Calvancante
    Result: Ruled “No Contest” after JZ landed an illegal strike (elbow) to Aoki’s back shoulder, Aoki was unable to continue.
  • Tatsuya Kawajiri vs. Kultar “Black Mamba” Gil
    Result: Tatsuya Kawajiri defeats Kultar Gill by Unanimous Decision.
  • Andre “Dida” Amade vs. Eddie Alvarez
    Result: Eddie Alvarez defeats Andre Amade by TKO (Strikes) at 6:47 of R1.
  • Mirko “Crocop” Filipovic vs. Tatsuya Mizuno*
    Result: Mirko Cro Cop vs. Tatsuya Mizuno by TKO (Strikes) at 0:56 of R1.
  • Mitsuhiro Ishida vs. Bu Kyung Jung
    Result: Mitsuhiro Ishida defeats Bu Kyung Jung by Unanimous Decision.
  • Artur Oumakhanov vs. Katsuhiko Nagata
    Result: Katsuhiko Nagata defeats Artur Oumakhanov Unanimous Decision.
  • Kazuyuki Miyata vs. Luiz Firmino “Buscape”
    Result: Luiz Firmino defeats Kazuyuki Miyata by Submission (Rear Naked Choke) at 7:37 of R1.
  • Koutetsu Boku vs. Joachim Hansen
    Result: Joachim Hansen defeats Kotetsu Boku Unanimous Decision.
  • Hayato “Mach” Sakurai vs. Hidetaka Monma*
    Result: Hayato Sakurai defeats Hidetaka Monma by TKO (Strikes) at 4:12 of R1.
  • Minowaman vs. Lee Gwan*
    Result: Ikuhisa Minowaman defeats Lee Gawn by Submission (Knee Bar) at 1:25 of R1.

Superfight, not part of the Lightweight Grand Prix

Aoki vs. Calvancante Highlights while you wait!