Joe Rogan Explains Why He Questioned Mario Yamasaki Over DQ at UFC 142

On Saturday night at UFC 142 Joe Rogan ran into the cage and questioned referee Mario Yamasaki about ruling Erick Silva’s TKO win a disqualification for illegal blows to the back of the head. Rogan quickly took to his favorite mixed martial arts message board “The Underground” to explain his thought posses.

I think Mario Yamasaki is one of the best in the world at refereeing MMA. No doubt about it. He’s got great insight to the sport, he’s a life long martial artist, and he’s a really smart guy. What I was acting from, is that I saw an incredible young talent get denied a KO victory for a questionable call. When I entered into the Octagon and was told of the official ruling that Silva was going to be disqualified for illegal blows to the back of the head everyone that I was around who heard the news opened their mouths in shock. Everyone said, “what?”

The people in the truck couldn’t believe it. I had to read it back to them because I thought it was a mistake, and when I leaned over to explain it to Goldie he couldn’t believe it either. I had to ask Mario about it. I didn’t know how he was going to respond, but I had to ask him.

Erick Silva is a very promising fighter and I felt like I had a responsibility to address the issue. No disrespect intended.

What do you think? Is it right for Rogan and employ of the promotion to question an official on the live broadcast? Did Erick Silva deserve that disqualification?

Comments

  1. I thought it was illegal. You call the back of the head hitting him square in the back of the head. Well I think it includes hitting in the back of the head from the side too. If you hit someone way behind the ears then it's the back of the head too.

  2. People make mistakes. Rogan, Yamasaki, Silva. Maybe they all made a mistake? Yamasaki made the call and Rogan asked why. Is that a mistake?

  3. This is why MMA needs to let ref have instant replay before they make controversial decision like this.

Speak Your Mind

*


− three = 2

Read previous post:
UFC Anthony Johnson
Cut Cut Cut: Anthony Johnson Released From The UFC Following Loss To Belfort

Missing weight once, twice but three times? You not only tick off fans, but you tick off UFC President Dana...

Close