UFC News: BJ Penn Will Serve No Jail Time

bj penn

UFC superstar BJ Penn will not have to serve any jail time for assaulting a Honolulu police officer, almost two years ago. The court today sentenced Penn to one year of probation and a $2000 fine. The court also stated that it will allow BJ Penn to travel to Newcastle, England for his fight with Joe Stevenson at UFC 80 on January 19.

BJ Penn was arrested May 8, 2005 for striking a police officer outside an crowded nightclub. The officer was one of two uniformed officers at the club, who were providing security for a Rumble at the Rock after party hosted by BJ Penn brother. Penn could have faced a maximum five years in prison for the first degree felony.

Mixed-martial arts superstar B.J. “The Prodigy” Penn, 28, was sentenced today to one year probation and ordered to pay $2,000 in restitution for hitting a Honolulu police officer during a melee outside of Waikiki bar two years ago.

As part of a no-contest plea agreement with prosecutors, Penn must also abstain from alcohol, submit to substance abuse treatment, perform 50 hours of community service and submit to random drug and alcohol tests.

If he abides by the conditions for a year, the offense will be removed from his record.

Penn apologized for his actions and said he is eager to put the incident behind him.

Video: Anderson Silva’s DQ Loss To Yushin Okami (2006)

With an inevitable rematch between Anderson Silva and Yushin Okami looming. Here is the video of their first fight at Rumble on The Rock 8 in 2006. Silva was disqualified when he caught Okami with an illegal kick. The UFC has signed the last two fighters that have defeated Anderson Silva, Yushin Okami and Ryo Chonan. The second video is a highlight showing the amazing flying knee heal hook Ryo Chonan defeated Anderson Silva with at Pride Shockwave 2004.

Anderson Silva vs. Yushin Okami

Anderson Silva vs. Ryo Chonan

Elite XC: Uprising Card

elite XC

September 15
Blaisdell Arena in Honolulu, Hawaii

Main Card

Murilo Rua vs Robbie Lawler
Nick Diaz vs Mike Aina
Joey Villasenor vs Riki Fukuda
Renato Verissimo vs Jake Shields
Gina Carano vs Tonya Evinger

Preliminary Card

Jaw Suk Kim vs Brandon Wolff
Kala Halohe Hose vs Jeff Cox
Mark Oshiro vs Nui Wheeler
Mark Kurano vs Jose Diaz
Justin Bucholz vs Kolo Koka
Tyson Nam vs Albert Manner

The winner of the main event between Murilo Rua and Robbie Lawler, will become the new EliteXC Welterweight Champion. Currently Rua is the EliteXC Champion and Lawler is the ICON Sport Champion. The preliminary fights will be streamed for free at Pro Elites official website. The main card will be broadcast on the cable channel Showtime.